Organized in 1790, Covenant-First Presbyterian has been a vital part of downtown Cincinnati from the city's founding.
Our historic sanctuary, built in 1875, captures the wonder, beauty, and awe we feel as we go before our Creator. Join us for a tour Wednesdays at 11:00 am to learn more of our illustrious heritage and beautiful structure.
The sanctuary arrangement is patterned after medieval English tithe barns. The priceless black walnut pulpit furniture was hand-carved by Henry and William Fry.
Numerous plaques tell of famous people connected with the church including Dr. Lyman Beecher, father of Harriet Beecher Stowe. Pioneer preacher James Kemper and British theologian G. Campbell Morgan were also part of our history.
Our spectacular stained-glass windows were crafted in the Munich tradition.
This addition was dedicated as the Education Building in 1922. This new space provided seating for 625 and an additional 175 in the balcony. The space was regularly filled for Bible classes, programs and pageants. Primary children used the basement classrooms. In recent years the building faced deterioration. However, God gave the then small congregation a vision of growth. After extensive planning and work by the Property Committee and Building Superintendent, renovation is now complete! The sounds of children again fill the building. Improvements have surpassed the original beauty of the building.
The original chapel window facing Elm Street has been replaced by a stunning stained-glass window, providentially salvaged from West Virginia. Other recent improvements at Covenant-First include direct entry from the adjacent System Parking Garage into the church (free on Sunday), kitchen upgrade, and roof repair. Plans for further work proceed to accommodate our growing congregation.
|Covenant-First Presbyterian Church - 717 Elm Street - Cincinnati, OH 45202 Telephone - 513-621-4144|